Week 22 (March 31)

Posted: March 31, 2014 in Weekly update

Ok, so I just spent the last half hour typing up a really detailed blog post for your enjoyment, but all my hard work ended up in vain, as the words were swallowed by a giant monster living somewhere in cyberspace. I hope my words were delicious.

On Monday I had my final day of teaching at the company class. We did a more relaxed lesson, as I turned the contents of the TOEIC test into a 2-team competition. It was a great way to wrap up the 28-day business English boot camp, and the students all said they enjoyed my class.

The following morning, I headed to Shikoku island for a day hike with my good friend Ted. Shikoku island is home to a 1200-km Buddhist route that loops around the entire island connecting 88 temples associated with the Shugendo sect of Buddism. After briefly visiting temple #1, we drove to the final temple and took a taxi down the valley so we could hike the last 8km of the route. Even though the pollen counts were high, it was an enjoyable walk in the countryside and a chance for Ted to do a little more research for a book he is writing about the pilgrimage. We finished off the long day with a soak in a local hot spring.

Mid-week brought another home visit from nurse Yohara. I asked her if patients ever accidentally skip doses and she said it was fairly common among elderly patients. I feel proud to admit that I haven’t forgotten to take my medicine even one time, but I sure I probably just jinxed myself by saying that. I’ve still got 3 weeks to have a mental lapse which could very well happen considering my schedule will change dramatically from the second week of April when the semester officially starts.

Since rain was forecast for Sunday, I seized a small fair-weather window and woke up at the crack of dawn for another hike on Saturday. I went to northern Kyoto Prefecture near the Sea of Japan where I thought the pollen counts would be lower. Unfortunately my nose rain like a neglected faucet and I even starting coughing a bit. I guess I was tempting fate by not giving myself enough time to recover from Tuesday’s hike. On Sunday morning I woke to find my usual clear mucus had turned yellow and that my chihuahua hack had developed into a full-blown cough of the Saint Bernard variety. I guess it was my body’s way of telling me to take a few days off and rest.

The last day of teaching with my company class

The last day of teaching with my company class

 

 

Leave a Reply

